PHIL Homepage
Symphony for the Schools Scholarship/Competitions Youth Orchestras Youth Musicians Adult Education  
Educator of the Year Awards

The Phil recognizes excellence in Music Education through our Music Educator of the Year Awards. Sponsored by Sweetwater Sound, these awards honor elementary music teachers and secondary band and orchestra directors who have made significant contributions to the field of music education and their community, and who have served as a source of inspiration to their students. To nominate a music educator for the 2012-2013 Music Educator of the Year award, please download the form in the media box at right.

St. Joseph Central Elementary School’s Laura McCoy and Kekionga Middle School’s Michael Horan were named Fort Wayne Philharmonic’s 2011-2012 Music Educators of the Year. McCoy was recognized for her achievements as a primary school music educator and Horan was recognized for his achievements in the middle school classroom.

McCoy and Horan each received a $500 cash prize, $500 for their schools’ music departments, 30 tickets to the Fort Wayne Philharmonic’s October 27 Masterworks concert, a banner for the school, a plaque, a Philharmonic ensemble performance for the classroom and a season subscription to the Philharmonic.

Pictured: Laura McCoy (St. Joseph Central Elementary School), Michael Horan (Kekionga Middle School), J.L. Nave, III (Fort Wayne Philharmonic). Picture courtesy of Teresa Nagel (Fort Wayne Community Schools).